Bartlett’s today is renowned for personalised elderly care in Buckinghamshire. It is a serene retreat that provides personal care around the clock and fulfils the social and personal needs of the residents. Spread over 17 acres, Bartlett’s started its long journey through different eras in the early 1860s.
The Victorian beginning
Bartlett’s started out as Peverel Court, and was a red brick mansion surrounded by gardens, meadows, paddocks, pleasure grounds and outbuildings. The first tenant of the building was the distinguished co-owner of Bucks and Oxon Bank, John Edward Bartlett.
The Bartlett family took a keen interest in the wellbeing of the locals and was liked by the village. In 1888, double tragedy struck the family, with the youngest daughter passing away, followed by John Bartlett, who was 64 years old. The family moved away in 1902 and the mansion was re-let.
The Edwardian era
The new tenant was a retired churchman, the Reverend Henry Blagdon. During his tenancy, the Peverel Court Football Club and the Stone and Hartwell Cricket Club were part of the mansion’s social life. The family maintained the garden and used the lawn to play croquet.
When the Blagdon family moved on in 1912, Peverel Court welcomed a new tenant, Brigadier General Reginald Stewart Oxley and his wife, Margaret. After an illustrious career in the army, the Brigadier settled down to a peaceful life at Peverel Court, where he and his wife participated in the village activities. By the time the Oxley family moved in 1929, Peverel Court was heavily mortgaged, so the estate sold the house, land and the two cottages opposite the main mansion.
In December 1929, Peverel Court was purchased for £7,000 by Dowager Lady Longford, who lived there with her six children. Lady Longford passed away in 1932, but the family found it difficult to sell the house. One of the cottages, christened Stairways, was purchased by a Methodist missionary.
By the time the Second World War started, Peverel Court had become an office for the London Mutual Insurance Company. It also served as an important centre for wartime community affairs.
When WWII came to an end, the London Mutual Insurance Company returned to London and the doors of Peverel Court were shut until the early 1950s. The Health Authority took it over to set up nurses’ homes, doctors’ flats and offices.
After 20 years of housing nurses and doctors, Peverel Court was used by the Stone Church of England Primary School for two years. By this time, the mansion was in disrepair, with holes in the floors and rickety stairs. When the new village school opened in 1971, the house once again fell silent other than hosting occasional functions and dances.
The Vale School bought the house in 1987 and converted it into a school. The school catered to 160 pupils, and even had tennis courts, a science block and a large sports hall. However, with dwindling student numbers, the Vale School closed in the summer of 1995 and put the house up for sale.
A new beginning
In the late 1990s, the house was purchased by Peverel Court Care and was completely refurbished to transform it into a comfortable and enchanting residential home. It was renamed Bartlett’s to honour the first Victorian tenant. Bartlett’s Residential Care Home is renowned for its exceptional elderly care and stunning views of the Chilterns.
The long journey of Peverel Court has now come to an end. Bartlett’s is a safe and secure retreat for the elderly. They receive comprehensive care, and we go beyond the call of duty to accommodate our residents’ needs and desires. We always welcome visitors to come and spend time in the lush surroundings, and with our residents, who love to greet visitors and discuss the rich history of Bartlett’s.